Monday, July 20, 1863

Jackson, Mississippi

WS Smith has asked for leave of absence to recuperate from illness which I have granted. I am promoting my brother in law, Hugh Ewing to command of his Division.

General Parke will start his command back to the Big Black River today.

I have received the mayor of Jackson who begs for food for the impoverished citizens of Jackson. I have destroyed the railroads and destroyed the countryside for 30 miles out. The citizens are now dependent on our good will for food. I have ordered that they be supplies and have notified General Grant of the Issue. I think it would bring them round if we opened trade with them. I sent this reply to the mayor,

Yours of July 20 is received. I will cause 200 barrels of flour and 100 barrels of mess pork to be delivered at Big Black River Bridge, to the order of any committee you may accredit who will undertake to distribute the same to people in want, living in and near Jackson. Let the committee be appointed at once, and I will furnish them safe conduct to and from the river. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment