Monday May 15, 1865

FREDERICKSBURG, May 15, 1865.

Lieutenant-General GRANT, Commanding U. S. Armies:
GENERAL: I have to report my arrival here. I left General Slocum at noon at Chancellorsville, and he will cross the Fourteenth at Raccoon Ford and Twentieth at the United States Ford tomorrow. General Logan is not yet in, and I suspect he has found his roads badly cut up by the troops that preceded us.
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General

I rode today with Slocum and we visited the battlefields of Chancellorsville until about noon. I then left Chancellorsville for Fredericksburg where I am to meet General Logan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

