Wednesday, May 10, 1865

Manchester, Viriginia

I received orders from Grant:

HEADQUARTERS ARMIES OF THE UNITED STATES, Washington, May 10, 1865. 3 a.m.
Major-General SHERMAN, Richmond, Va.:
You will march your army on to Alexandria, as first directed from Raleigh. I have written and telegraphed to you, though not on that subject.
U. S. GRANT, Lieutenant-General.

MANCHESTER, VA., May 10, 1865. 12 m.
Lieutenant General U. S. GRANT, Washington:
Your dispatch directing me to march my command to Alexandria just received. I have ordered the Army of Georgia to move tomorrow, and the Army of the Tennessee will follow next day.
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, Manchester, Va., May 10, 1865
General H. W. HALLECK, U. S. Army, Richmond, Va.:
I received your cipher dispatch last evening, and have revolved it in my mind all night in connection with that telegraphic message of April 26 to Secretary Stanton, and by him rushed with such indecent haste before an excited public. I cannot possibly reconcile the friendly expressions of the former with the deadly malignity of the latter, and cannot consent to the renewal of a friendship I had prized so highly till I can see deeper into the diabolical plot than I now do. When you advised me of the assassin Clark being on my track I little dreamed he would turn up in the direction and guise he did, but thank God I have become so blase to the dangers to life and reputation by the many vicissitudes of this cruel war, which some people are resolved shall never be over, that nothing surprises me. I will march my army through Richmond quietly and in good order, without attracting attention, and I beg you to keep slightly perdu, for if noticed by some of my old command I cannot undertake to maintain a model behavior, for their feelings have become aroused by what the world adjudges an insult to at least an honest commander. If loss of life or violence result from this you must attribute if to the true cause- a public insult to a brother officer when he was far away on public service, perfectly innocent of the malignant purpose and design.
I am, &c.,
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General, Commanding

RICHMOND, VA., May 10, 1865
Major General W. T. SHERMAN, City Point:
You have not had during this war nor have you now a warmer friend and admirer than myself. If in carrying out what I knew to be the wishes of the War Department in regard to your armistice I used language which has given you offense it was unintentional, and I deeply regret it. If fully aware of the circumstances under which I acted I am certain you would not attribute to me any improper motives. It is my wish to continue to regard and receive you as a personal friend. With this statement I leave the matter in your hands.
W. HALLECK, Major-Gener

HDQRS. MIL. DIV. OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, Manchester, Va.,
SPECIAL FIELD ORDERS, Numbers 69. May 10, 1865.

The march of the army northward will be resumed as follows:

I. The Left Wing, Major General H. W. Slocum, will cross the James River on the pontoon bridges and pass through Richmond to Hanover Court-House, and thence by roads through or to the left of Chilesburg, Warrenton Junction, Centerville, and Fairfax Court-House to a camp near Alexandria, Va.

II. The Right Wing, Major General O. O Howard, will follow at leisure, passing through Richmond to Hanover Court-House, and thence by roads to the east of those prescribed for the Left Wing, substantially by Bowling Green, Fredericksburg, Stafford Court-House, and Dumfries to a camp near Alexandria.

III. The chief quartermaster, General Easton, and chief commissary, General Beckwith, will, on completing supplies at this point, hasten to Alexandria and make suitable preparations for the reception of this army on its arrival there; and the commanding general of each army will send a staff officer to Alexandria in advance to select suitable camps for their armies–the Right Wing within four miles of the town, and to the south of the Manassas road, and the Left Wing about the same distance from town and to the north of this road.

IV. The general-in-chief will accompany the Left Wing as far as Hanover Court-House, and thence travel with the Ring Wing. The troops must be marched slowly, not to exceed fifteen miles a day, unless specially ordered by a corps commander.

By order of Major General W. T. Sherman:
L. M. DAYTON, Assistant Adjutant-General.

Howard Issues orders for the relief of his wing:

HDQRS. ARMY OF THE TENNESSEE,
SPECIAL FIELD ORDERS, Numbers 112. Manchester, Va., May 10, 1865.

I. In consideration of necessity of procuring clothing, mess supplies, &c., for officers, the complete prohibition to enter Richmond by officers and men of this army is removed. Officers and soldiers with their side arms on, and with a pass for each, approved by direction of the corps commander, may visit the city between sunrise and sunset until further orders. Officers and men on duty at these headquarters are required to have authority from general commanding.

II. All men disabled by exhaustion and lameness, and such sick as do not require active medical treatment, will be organized under competent and energetic line officers and transferred by water to Alexandria to await the arrival of the army.

III. In order to carry out the instructions of Special Field Orders, Numbers 69, headquarters Military Division of the Mississippi, of this date, the Seventeenth Army Corps, Bvt. Major General M. D. Leggett commanding, will move on Friday, the 12th instant, and pass through Richmond to Hanover Court-House. The Fifteenth Army Corps, Major General John A. Logan commanding, will move on Saturday, the 13th instant, and march through Richmond to Hanover Court-House. A section of the bridge train will move with each corps. These headquarters will follow the Seventeenth Army Corps.

By order of Major General O. O. Howard:

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, Manchester, Va., May 10, 1865. 12 m.
Major General H. W. SLOCUM, Commanding Army of Georgia:
The general-in-chief directs me to inform you that the cavalry of General Sheridan will pass over the pontoon bridge this p. m., which will give it to us to-morrow. Please give such directions as to insure that no part of your command will occupy the bridge from this time out to-day.
I am, general, with respect,
L. M. DAYTON, Major and Assistant Adjutant-General

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

