Saturday, April 15, 1865

Raleigh, North Carolina

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, Raleigh, N. C., April 1865.

General U. S. GRANT and SECRETARY OF WAR:
I send copies of a correspondence begun with General Johnston, which, I think, will be followed by terms of capitulation. I will accept the same terms as General Grant gave General Lee, and be careful not to complicate any points of civil policy. If any cavalry have started toward me caution them that they must be prepared to find our work done.

It is now raining in torrents, and I shall await General Johnston’s reply here, and will propose to meet him in person at Chapel Hill. I have invited Governor Vance to return to Raleigh with the civil officers of his State. I have met ex-Governor Graham, Mr. Bager, Moore, Golden, and other, all of whom agree that the war is over, and that the States of the South must resume their allegiance, subject to the Constitution and laws of Congress, and that the military power of the South must submit to the national arms. This great fact once admitted, all the detailes are easy of arrangement.
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, Raleigh, N. C., April 15, 1865.
Major McCOY, Durham’s Station:
Stay with General Kilpatrick till you get Johnston’s answer. Let me know, day or night, when it is come, for I may have its contents telegraphed and may answer it by telegraph. Have Eddy move his case and instrument up to you.
SHERMAN, Major-General

Kilpatrick Reports from Durham’s, April 15, 1865 – 11:30 a.m.

I have your note. My position is one mile from this point on road to Hillsborough. General Atkins must have reached Chapel Hill by this time. Lieutenant-Colonel Godfrey has not yet returned with an answer to your communication. I don’t think Johnston can be trusted. I believe his army to be now marching on. Hampton left this point about daylight this morning. We were close on his infantry yesterday at 10 o’clock, and pressing it closely. Johnston’s communication to you I suppose was written about that hour. I believe if he can escape he will do so. I shall remain here in accordance with your orders.

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, Raleigh, N. C., April 15, 1865.
General KILPATRICK, Durham’s:
Your communicaiton of 11:30 a. m. is received. I think Johnston is in earnest, for he knows well that the cause is hopeless. I will await his answer. Don’t advance beyond Chapel Hill and Durham’s till I hear from him and make new orders.
Yours,
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General, Commanding

I received a note from the Mayor of Louisburg surrendering the town.

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, Raleigh, N. C., April 15, 1865.

W. H. PLEASANT, Esq., Mayor of Louisburg:
DEAR SIR: Your communication of this date is received. It is not my present intention to move any part of this army through Louisburg, and I do not think you will be molested in any manner; nor can I send a small detachment, because it would be exposed to danger from Hampton’s cavalry. But I think I can promise you that events are in progress that will soon give peace to all the good people of North Carolina. Mr. William A. Graham, of Hillsborough, has gone to Governor Vance to assure him that he has my full promise of assistance and protection if he will return and maintain good order in the State. I am also now in correspondence with General Johnston, which I hope will result in an universal peace. The gentleman who bears this letter can explain, many things that will, I hope tend to allay any fears occasioned by the falsehoods circulated by the rebel cavalry.
I am, with respect, your obedient servant,
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General, U. S. Army.

About 2,000 of Brigadier-General Prince’s Provisional Division from Hilton Head, under Colonel Smith, and about 400 recruits, convalescents, and prisoners will start from Wilmington tomorrow to march to Goldsborough. I will halt them there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

