Saturday, March 25, 1865

Goldsboro, North Carolina

It is manifest to me that we can resume our march, and come within the theatre of General Grant’s field of operations in all April. There is no force in existence that can delay our progress, unless General Lee should succeed in eluding General Grant at Petersburg, make junction with General Johnston, and thus united meet me alone. Now that we have effected a junction with Generals Terry and Schofield, I have no fear even of that event. I have learned from General Schofield all the details of his operations about Wilmington and Newbern; also of the fight of the Twenty-third Corps about Kinston, with General Bragg.

The railroad is repaired to Goldsboro’ as of this evening. I want to consult with Grant in person before leaving on my next march. I left General Schofield in chief command, with a couple of staff-officers I started for City Point, Virginia, in a locomotive, in company with Colonel Wright, the constructing engineer. We reached Newbern by late evening, and passed time in the company of General Palmer and his accomplished lady.

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, Goldsborough, March 25, 1865
General EASTON, Morehead CIty:
I will come down with Colonel Wright. Have a steamer to take me to City Point; only four in the party. If the navy has a good gunboat doing nothing I would ask for it. I want to see General Grant and return at once; to be absent not to exceed five days.
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, March 25, 1865.
Colonel GARBER, Kinston:
I think 2,000 tons a week should come by water to Kinston and thence hauled in wagons to our camps. This will help the railroad till we get it stocked, and our mules can make one round trip a week and thrive. So keep that line moving whilst Colonel Wright pushes his railroads from Morehead City and Wilmington. We are doing finely now.
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General.

SPECIAL FIELD ORDERS, Numbers 38.
HDQRS. MIL. DIV. OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, Goldsborough, N. C., March 25, 1865.
I. The general commanding announces that he will be absent a few days on most important business concerning the future. During his absence Major- General Schofield will exercise supreme command, and it is announced that the rank of the general officers according to the rules established by the War Department is: First, Major-General Schofield;Second, Major- General Howard; Third, Major-Geneal Slocum.

Kilpatrick Reports:

HEADQUARTERS THIRD DIVISION, CAVALRY CORPS, MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, March 25, 1865.
Major L. M. DAYTON, Asst. Adjt. General Military Division of the Mississippi:
MAJOR: Everything has been sent to the rear that will at all impede my progress. I have had much hard service and some severe fighting, consequently many of my animals have been killed, wounded, and disabled.
I have no doubt that there are plenty of animals in the army at the present time ridden by foragers whose occupation now is over, and could be turned over to me. I respectfully suggest that an order be printed to that effect.
Very respectfully,
J. KILPATRICK, Brevet Major-General

General Gilmore has supplies at Hilton Head

HEADQUARTERS DEPARTMENT OF THE SOUTH, Hilton Head, S. C . March 25, 1865.
Major General W. T. SHERMAN, Commanding Military Division of the Mississippi:
GENERAL: Your letter to Geenral Foster of the 12th instant from Fayetteville reached me on the 19th. The expedition to Sumterville is now in course of preparation, and the examination of Santee, Black, and Great Pedee Rivers and Lynch’s Creek will have to decide the route to be taken. Four thousand white troops of this command have been sent to North Carolina to aid the movement from the coast in that quarters. I am informed that they were landed at Morehead City. I am now sending to the same place the men belonging to your army that have accumulated here to the number of 7,000 and upward of one thousand of them have already gone, and I await transportation for the rest. The steamer America starts this morning, fully loaded with clothing, viz, 65,688 pairs cavalry boots, 140,000 pairs stockings, 20,000 hats. Most of this was taken from one of your own vessels, left in reserve here. I can spare from my own supply of clothing the following, which will be sent as soon as possible, viz, 12,000 pairs infantry pants, 6,000 pairs cavalry pants, 20,000 pairs drawers, 45,000 pairs stockings, 20,000 sack coats, 5,000 hats, 12,000 caps, 10,000 woolen blankets.
I am, sire, very respectfully, your obedient servant,
Q. A. GILLMORE, Major- General.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

