January 22, 1865

TO Senator JOHN SHERMAN

Headquarters, Military Divisionof the Mississippi, In the Field, Savannah, Georgia. Jan. 22,1865

Dear Brother,
I have often read of votes of Thanks by Congress to me & my army, but have never received official notice of any. I don’t know whether it is customary for the Clerk of Either branch to send notice of such Resolutions, or that one is left simply to find out as he best may. Will you enquire and if I should have copies of the Resolutions get them and send them to Ellen for deposit to the use of my children.

I start today for the advance of my army at Pocataligo, but we have had such storms & rains that the whole country is under water, but I will be off as soon as possible. No one is more alive to the importance of time than I am.

I wrote you that I deem it unwise to make another Lt. General or to create the Rank of General. Let the Law Stand as now. I will accept no commission that would tend to create a rivalry with Grant. I want him to hold what he has earned, and got. I have all the Rank I want, and on the score of pay, as long as I can keep out in the woods, my family can live on my pay, about $550 a month. I don’t save anything for Ellen’s expenses have been and are heavy. Mine are comparatively light.

If you ever hear anybody use my name in connection with a Political office tell them you know me well enough to assure them that I would be offended by such association. I would rather be an engineer of a Rail road, than President of the U.S. or any political office. In military titles I have now the Maximum, and it makes no difference whether that be Maj. Genl. or Marshal. It means the same thing: I have commanded one hundred thousand men in battle, and on the march, successfully and without confusion, and that is enough for reputation. Next I want rest & Peace and they can only be had through war. You will hear of me but not from me for some time.
Your Brother,
W.T. Sherman

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

