Monday, January 2, 1865

TO ELLEN EWING SHERMAN

Headquarters, Military Division of the Mississippi, Savannah, Georgia

Dearest Ellen,
I am about to Send a Steamer to General Grant with dispatches and propose to send Charley if I can find him, but as usual he is out of the way and cannot be found. I have written you and the children several times, and the newspapers keep you well advised of my whereabouts. I have written you and the children several times, and the newspapers keep you well advised of my whereabouts. I am now in a magnificent mansion living like a Gentleman, but Soon will be off for South Carolina and then look out for Breakers. You may count on me being here till the 15th. I have not yet had one word from you since you knew of my having reached the Coast and only Know of the death of our little boy, by the New York papers of Dec. 22. I was in a measure prepared for it by your letter received at Kingston. I suppose you felt his loss far more than I do because I never saw him, but all the children seemed to be so attached to him that you may be so grieved at his death you Cannot write to me. I Know by the Same source that you are now at South Bend in Mr. Colfax house. It must be very cold up there. It is really cold here, though the Sun shines warm and the trees have green leaves, of course no snow, but ice formed in the Gutters and on the ponds. General Barnard got here last night from General Grant with dispatches which I have answered. The clerks are copying my letters and as soon as finished I will send a flat steamer to Port Royal, whence a sea steamer will go to City Point, and thence this letter will be sent you.

I enclose a check for $800. I drew pay for November & December, Kept $300 & send you the balance. It is good for you that I Keep in the woods where my expenses are small and you get the lion’s share of pay. I see that the State of Ohio talks of making me a present of a home &c. For myself I would accept nothing, but for you & the children I would be willing, especially if such a present were accompanied as in Farraguts place, with Bonds enough to give interest to pay taxes. My pay would not enable me to pay taxes on the property. I have received from high sources, highest praises and yesterday, New Years was toasted &c. with allusions to Hannibal, Caesar &c. &c, but in reply I turned all into a good joke by saying that Hannibal & Caesar were small potatoes as they had never read the New York Herald, or had a photograph taken. Of course I feel a just pride in the Confidence of my army, and the singular friendship of General Grant, who is almost childlike in his love for me. It does seem that Time has brought out all my old Friends, Grant, Thomas, Sheridan &c. All sorts of People send me Presents, and I hope they don’t slight you or the Girls. I want little in that way, but I think you can Stand a good deal. Thus far success has crowned my boldest Conceptions and I am going to try others quite as Quixotic. It may be that Spite of my fears I may come out all Right.

Love to all. Yours Ever,
Sherman

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

