Thursday, December 29, 1864

Savannah, Georgia

I sent recommendations for promotions among my engineering corp including Captain Poe, my chief engineer. I prefer that he should be brevet Brigadier-General in the Regular Army, in order that I may retain him near my person as long as I have the honor to exercise an active command in the Army of the United States. I find him so thoroughly qualified that I would be lost without him.

The Director of Military Railroads is sending an engineer who will oversee the captured railroads and locomotives at Savannah.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

