Monday, September 26, 1864

Atlanta, Georgia
We continue to discuss our next move. I want to move on Savannah and Augusta. Halleck suggests I concentrate on Alabama.

ATLANTA, GA., September 26, 1864: 10 a. m.

Major-General HALLECK, Chief of Staff:
General Newton has started for Key WEST and will go, via New Orleans, to see General Canby, and explain much that cannot as well be done by letter. I would like to know by telegraph when Captain Audenried reaches Washington with my dispatches, that I may know that you and General Grant are in possession of my views. I want the recruits sent forward as fast as possible. I know my line of communication will be attacked. Forrest is now lieutenant-general and in command of all the cavalry.

I have re-enforced my line back as far as Chattanooga; but in Middle Tennessee we are weak, on account of the number of regiments out of time. I would like to have any regiments in Indiana or Ohio sent to Nashville, or recruits would do. Jeff. Davis is on a visit to Hood at Palmetto.
W.T. SHERMAN, Major-General

I write Canby on the Mississippi:
Major General E. R. S. CANBY:
General Newton is ordered to Key WEST and will come to see you. I am very anxious that you should get the Appalachicola River as high up as the arsenal. I think it could be done with a small force and a few gun-boats, and it would do more good than the capture of the city of Mobile.
W.T. SHERMAN, Major-General

CITY POINT, VA., September 26,1864: 6:30 p. m.
Major-General SHERMAN:
Jeff. Davis was in Richmond on last Thursday. This, I think, is beyond a doubt. I have evidence that General Sheridan’s victory has created the greatest consternation and alarm for the safety of the city. I will give them another shake before the end of the week.
S. GRANT, Lieutenant-General

I correct General Grant. Jeff Davis is not in Richmond. He was giving a speech to Hoods Army.

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, In the Field, Atlanta, Ga., September 26, 1864: 10 p. m.

Lieutenant General U. S. GRANT, City Point:
I have your dispatch of today. I have already sent one DIVISION (General Newton’s) to Chattanooga, and another (Corse’s) to Rome. Our armies are much reduced, and if I send back much more I will not be able to threaten Georgia much. There are men enough to the rear to whip Forrest, but they are necessarily scattered to defend the road. Can’t you expedite the sending to Nashville of the recruits that are in Indiana and Ohio? They could occupy the forts. Hood is now on the WEST Point road, twenty-four miles south of this, and draws his supplies by that road. Jeff. Davis is there today, and superhuman efforts will be made to break my road. Forrest is now lieutenant-general and commands all the enemy’s cavalry.
W.T. SHERMAN, Major-General

WASHINGTON, September 26, 1864: 1 p. m.

Major-General SHERMAN, Atlanta, Ga.:
I do not know what General Grant’s views are about Savannah, but I hardly think he intends to operate there. I should say your line was Columbus, Montgomery, and Selma, opening, in conjunction with Farragut and Canby, the Alabama River. Selma is a very important place. You are nearer to Montgomery than to Augusta, and the latter as far from Savannah as the former from Mobile. By holding Atlanta, Montgomery, and the Alabama River we can prevent any serious raids into Mississippi, Tennessee, and Kentucky, and at the same time cut off the rebel army from their grain-fields. Deprived of the grain, iron, and coal of Northern Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi, and the harbor of Wilmington closed as effectually as Mobile, Savannah, and Charleston now are, they can hardly hold out in strong force another year. Your mode of conducting war is just the thing we now want. We have tried the kid-glove policy enough.

H. W. HALLECK, Major-General and Chief of Staff

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

