Friday, September 23, 1864

Headquarters, Military Division of the Mississippi, Atlanta, Georgia Sept. 23, 1864.
Honorable T. Ewing, Lancaster, Ohio,

Dear Sir,
I have yours of September 10, telling me that the Citizens of Lancaster have invested $1700 in the purchase of a horse & equipment for me, and asking me what I prefer should be done with them. Of course I feel much gratified at this mark of honor and kindness on the part of my old Townsmen and feel sure the horse at such a price will be no common one but rather too valuable to risk in these war times. I have with me one very valuable horse “Dick” presented me at Louisville that Suits my style of riding exactly, and I also have some six others of various kinds that do very well for the march and for the Knocking about among our Lines, trains of wagons & camps, so that I really do not need another at this time. Still I apprehend in the future as in the Past, I will lose some of these, and therefore deem it prudent to hold any surplus in “reserve.”

Nashville is our Depot, or Louisville, but even Lancaster would be preferable now, for I could order forward the horse in the Spring, which is as soon as I will likely need a new horse of such quality. The probabilities are that the Course of war will take me this winter far from here even, and therefore I prefer the horse should be Kept at Lancaster provided he can be Kept in full vigor by constant practice. The horse to be presented to me should be a free, bold, walker, trotter and canter, especially the former. He should “take” a leap anything in reason, such as a fence, gully, or log. Should be well bitted to the curb, and not afraid of anything. Thus far I have had but four 4 such, three of which are dead and one was killed under me, the fourth I still have in fine order.

If you will communicate these facts to the Committee I feel assured they will with pleasure conform to my wishes, but if you think it more graceful to bring him to the Front, send him to Col. J. L. Davidson, Nashville.

I am with respect &c.
W. T. Sherman, Major General

TO PHILEMON B. EWING
Headquarters, Military Division of the Mississippi, Atlanta Sept. 23,1864

Dear Phil
I have yours about young Lobenthal and have referred it to General Thomas in whose army he is with an endorsement that will result in his release if it can be done without too much favoritism. I will in time notify you of the result.

I continue to receive commendations as to the Campaign of Atlanta from sources too high to be undervalued. I suppose I must assume the real title of a General & carry it as I best may. The capture of Atlanta and its Line of Railroads gives me a fine opening for another still more decisive move in war, but we must have Our Regiments filled up. War is costly in life, but it is thrust on us and we must meet it in all its magnitude. The last dollar & the last man, must not be a mere boast but if necessary must be a reality. I would Still prefer that others Should lead, but if events force me into the position I must go on. Now even if any ill fate befals me I trust the country will take care of my family.

So Smoothly and harmoniously have things worked on this Line, and such results have been achieved by unseen roads, that the soldiers & officers will follow me into any enterprise however hazardous. Just enough doubt & uncertainty hung over us just before we took Atlanta that all give to us the larger Share in the result. I think my official Report which I sent to Ellen by Colonel Moore will interest your father much, and after you have decyphyered it, I want you to read it to him carefully, for I think it unfolds the story truthfully and clearly.
I Should like to see you all but it cannot be. I must stay and Share the fortunes of my comrades.
Yours affectionately,
W. T. Sherman

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

