Saturday, September 17, 1864

Atlanta, Georgia

TO   EUGENE   CASSERLY
Dear Casserly,
I can hardly treat seriously of property in San Francisco, but do get rid of that lot, and though Gold is something hard to get in this country I will buy and get enough to pay the balance due on that lot.  I know that Captain Welch meant to do Lizzie a kindness in giving that lot.  Still I never intended to commit the folly of paying taxes, but Ellen tells me Mr. Moss has done so, and he must be reimbursed.  Let it be sold if you can make title.  Pay over the proceeds to Mr. Moss and the balance to repay Mr. Moss in full. I will deposit for him with Schuchardt & Gebhard New York.  I can handle an hundred thousand men in battle, and take the “City of the Sun”, but am afraid to manage a lot in the Swamp of San Francisco, with your taxes and street assessments, and Greenbacks at 256.  In taking Atlanta we brought Gold down to 220, so now is the time for me to reimburse Mr. Moss for his advances on account of that unfortunate piece of property.

I have made a short truce with General Hood at a place called Rough & Ready 12 miles out, where I deliver the People of Atlanta and he transports them beyond the break I made in his Road, which made him quit Atlanta in a hurry.  I got a letter from Calhoun Penham who is an officer on some Rebel General’s staff.  He is a pretty “chivalry”.  These fellows have a way of leaving us to take care of their families, but when I took Atlanta I ordered them all to quit and a big howl is raised against my Barbarity: Butler is the Beast; Sherman the Brute; & Grant the Butcher.  This is somewhat on the order of the school bully who if he can’t whip you, can call you hard names or make mouths as you listen.

I think I will make a Record of this campaign that will compare well with that of the European Models. I made two moves that I would like to demonstrate to you at home with the maps but which I cannot now essay: the passage of the Chattahoochee, and the raising the siege & striking Hoods communications before he suspected my movement.

Give my love to Mrs. C. to Dr. Bowie, Mr. Moss and others of my acquaintance if they still remember me.

Your friend,
W. T. Sherman

TO   EDWARD   EVERETT

Headquarters, Military Division of the Mississippi, Atlanta Georgia, Sept. 17,1864

Hon. Edward Everett, Boston Mass.
Dear Sir,
The Honorable Secretary of War has been kind enough to enclose me a Copy of the Boston Advertiser which contains your letter addressed to a Public meeting called to celebrate the recent successes to our arms, in which you associate my name honorably with those of Admiral Farragut, and Lt. General Grant.  So high a Compliment, coming from one who looks deep into the Causes of Events, and who foreshadows the judgment of History to which all men must submit, is one which even I must appreciate.  I thank you for such a mark of your esteem, and can only promise to use the physical Force entrusted to my care to the end that our Nation’s honor and Power may stand vindicated, and may serve as the buckler and shield of safety to the thousands of millions of human beings that must succeed us in the Favored Region of Earth, committed to our Custody.

In your letter, I was more than pleased to see revived Mr. Webster’s Magnificent Simile, comparing our political system with that of the Grand Universe, when each little Planet or asteroid if Kept to its place remains in perfect harmony, having an influence upon the whole proportionate to its mass but no more: but if rudely withdrawn the Equilibrium is destroyed, and wreck & chaos sure to follow. How true was his prediction and plain and palpable the only remedy.

Mr. Stephens, to whom you also refer with the predictions made by him of the consequences of Secession, is now living “perdu” in this state, witnessing all the Sad Calamities which he foresaw, but Could not prevent.  I am told by Citizens that he is universally regarded as an Union Man, and has not been permitted to Exercise any influence or power in a Government, in which he is nominally second in Station.  All these things are elements in the Great Problem, that will be worked out in Time, and it were Sacrilegious in us to pronounce the sacrifices made as useless.  Good will come out of their incongruities and complications and our Government will be strengthened that it may fulfill its destiny in a more eminent degree.

I feel the more confidence since men like you heed the passing storm and guide it to its logical end, whilst we mere artizans mould the unsteady Elements of a democratic mass, into a well ordered army, and impress on it a love of country, a Reverence for its Laws & Civil Authorities, and a Courage that will sustain it in these wild struggles of Maddened Strife.

Permit me to subscribe myself as your Friend and humble servant,
W. T. Sherman, Major General

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

