Wednesday, June 22, 1864

It has rained almost incessantly, in spite of which our lines have been pressed forward steadily and an important position gained by General Howard. The enemy made a desperate attempt to retake this position last night, making seven distinct assaults on Brigadier-General Whitaker’s brigade,of Stanely’s division, and losing not less than 700 or 800. Two hundred killed were left in Whitaker’s front. The assault was followed by heavy fire of artillery, under which the position was fortified and is now safe. Our cavalry is across Noonday Creek, on our left, and one brigade of Twenty-third Corps is across Noyes’ Creek, on right; but rebel left is behind swamp, and the rains prevent any advance. Fighting has been quite severe at all points, enemy resisting stubbornly, and attempting offensive whenever he can. Mounted force is keeping wires cut between Resaca and Dalton for couple days, and has burned bridge at Tilton and captured two trains, all of which will be remedied in another day.

Schofield writes:

HEADQUARTERS ARMY OF THE OHIO,
June 22, 1864: 9 p. m.

Major General W. T. SHERMAN, Commanding Military Division of the Mississippi:

I have pushed forward on the Marietta road until I connect with General Hooker’s right, which is considerably in advance of the rest of his line. The fighting has been heavy during most of the afternoon and has been decidedly to our advantage. Prisoners say we are only a mile and a half from the railroad. General Hooker says we are a little in advance of Kolb’s. I have one brigade on the Sandtown road and my cavalry covers the interval. I regard my hold of that road as secure. Prisoners say the whole of Hood’s corps left their right and came this side of Marietta yesterday. They made an assault upon me and also upon Hooker this evening with the evident purpose of breaking our lines, yet their assaults were hardly strong enough for the force named. Prisoners all agree that Hood’s whole corps was in our front to-day, and do not know that any force but cavalry took their place on the enemy’s right. My loss is about 100, that of the enemy much larger. We have taken about 50 prisoners.

Our position is but little in advance of the Marietta and Sand town cross-roads, which I understand to be from four to five miles from Marietta.

Respectfully,
J. M. SCHOFIELD,

Major-General, Commanding

HDQRS. MILITARY DIVISION OF THE MISSISSIPPI, 
In the Field, June 22, 1864.
Major-General THOMAS, Commanding Army of the Cumberland:

I will start early to look at the position of McPherson as near the north base of Kenesaw as I can safely do, and then come to Wallace’s, or the house in front, and then over to Hooker. I have ordered Schofield to cross his whole command over Noyes’ Creek, and turn the head of his column up toward Marietta, until he reaches Hooker, to support and co-operate on his right, but to keep his cavalry and a part of his rear infantry on the Sandtown road, prepared to regain it in case the enemy show signs of let go. I fear we will get our commands too close, but I suppose Schofield can find room to deploy south of the Powder Springs and Marietta road. You may order Hooker to extend to that road and leave Schofield beyond. If he can get possession of the ground up to Mrs. Kolb’s I wish him to do so, and the balance of your line to conform. I will explain McPherson’s orders when I meet you.

I am, &c.,
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General, Commanding

Hoods Corp launched the attack on Hooker and Schofield. Hood attacked to the right of Hooker but was flanked by Schofield. I will shift my troops to flank Johnston on my right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

