Friday, April 15, 1864

Nashville Tennessee

I wrote to General Grant:

Headquarters Military Division of the Mississippi, Nashville, Tennessee, April 15, 1864

Lieutenant-General Grant, Culpeper, Virginia:

General Brayman reports from Cairo the arrival of 50 wounded white soldiers from Fort Pillow, and that the place was attacked on the 12th, 50 white soldiers killed and 100 taken prisoners, and 300 blacks murdered after surrender. I don’t know what these men were doing at Fort Pillow. I ordered it to be abandoned before I went to Meridian, and it was so abandoned.

General Hurlbut must have sent this garrison up recently from Memphis. So many men are on furlough that Grierson and Hurlbut seem to fear going out of Memphis to attack Forrest. I have no apprehension for the safety of Paducah, Columbus, or Memphis, but without drawing from Dodge, I have no force to send over there, and don’t want to interrupt my plans of preparation for the great object of the spring campaign. I expect McPherson’s two divisions from Vicksburg to rendezvous at Cairo from furlou Whenever either of these commands arrive I can pen Forrest up, but it will take some time to run him down. Do you want me to delay for such a purpose? But shall I go on to concentrate on Chattanooga?

I don’t know what to do with Hurlbut. I know that Forrest could pen him up in Memphis with 2,500 men although Hurlbut has all of Grierson’s cavalry and 2,500 white infantry, 4.000 blacks, and the citizen militia, 3,000. If you think I have time I will send a division from Dodge to Purdy, and order A. J. Smith as he comes up to strike inland to Bolivar, Jackson, &c, and come across by land to the Tennessee. This may consume an extra two weeks.

Corse was at Vicksburg ready to start up the Red River the 8th.

W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General

Grant sent his reply. Hurlbut must be replaced by someone who is more aggressive.

CULPEPER, Va.,
April 15, 1864; 8 p.m. Major-General Sherman:
Forrest must be driven out, but with a proper commander in West Tennessee there is force enough now. Your preparations for the corning campaign must go on, but if it is necessary to detach a portion of the troops intended for it, detach them and make your campaign with that much fewer men.

Relieve Major General S. A. Hurlbut. I can send General Washburn, a sober and energetic officer, to take his place. I can also send you General L. C. Hunt to command District of Columbus. Shall I send Washburn? Does General Hurlbut think if he moves a part of his force after the only enemy within 200 miles of him that the post will run off with the balance of his force?

If our men have been murdered after capture, retaliation must be resorted to promptly.
U. S. GRANT, Lieutenant-General

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

