Thursday, March 24, 1864

Nashville, Tennessee

TO JOHN SHERMAN
Head-Quarters Military Division of the Mississippi, Nashville, Tennessee
March 24, 1864

Dear Brother,
I went to Cincinnati with Grant to see Ellen. I staid but 2 days, and am now here. I go to Decatur, Huntsville & Chattanooga, to be gone a week and then return here. I will have plenty to do. I am bored for Photographs &c. I send you the only one I have which you can have duplicated, & let the operator sell to the Curious.

Give Grant all the support you can. If he can escape the toils of the schemers he may do some good. He will fight, and the Army of the Potomac will have all the fighting they want. He will expect your friendship. We are close friends. His simplicity and modesty are natural & not affected.
Whatever part is assigned me I will attempt cost what it may in life & Treasure.

My love to Cecilia
Your Brother,
W. T. Sherman

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

