Sunday, January 17, 1864

Vicksburg, Mississippi

I am calling in all the troops I can for march on Meridian. I will abandon Corinth, Mississippi. I requires too many troops to protect the railroads and keep it supplied. The residence of the area are Secesh, and I have no need to protect them from the cavalry of the enemy. Let their cavalry deprive their own supporters.

I am abandoning the outpost across the River at Millikins Bend. They will move into Vicksburg or join us on the march.

My plans here are set in motion. I will go back to Memphis and return to Vicksburg with Hurlbut and his divisions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

