Tuesday, January 12, 1864

Memphis, Tennessee

I have a cold. At first I went hoarse, now and have no voice. I wrote to Hurlbut:

GAYOSO, January 12, 1864

DEAR HURLBUT: Yesterday I was husky; today I am dumb; a cold house has silenced me. I wanted to come to your house today to see Mrs. Hurlbut.

I find no boat in port for Vicksburg, and will go tomorrow about 4 p.m. for Vicksburg, touching at Helena and Skipwith’s to see Generals Buford and Hawkins. I can take down any order for the former. I can go down and back in a week, and by that time you will have matters in fair progress. We ought to be off by the 24th at furthest, but better 22nd. I think Tuttle’s division should be two brigades. I am sorry Veatch is sick.

If I do not come up early to your office tomorrow send me a minute of your proposed command, that I may show it to McPherson.

Yours, truly,
W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General

I sent this message to Generals Halleck and Grant

Major General H. W. HALLECK, General-in-Chief:

I think by the 24th I can make up a force of 20,000 men to strike Meridian, and it may be Selma. Infantry will move via Vicksburg, Jackson, and Brandon; cavalry down the Mobile and Ohio Road from La Grange, they meeting about Chucky River. If you think we hazard too much you will have time to notify me by telegraph. I shall aim to reach Meridian by February 8, at the furthest. The attention of that enemy in front of Chattanooga should be occupied by a seeming move toward Rome by Thomas and Logan.

W. T. SHERMAN, Major-General

I received this message from McPherson at Vicksburg:

HEADQUARTERS SEVENTEENTH ARMY CORPS, 
Vicksburg, Mississippi, January 12, 1864

Major General W. T. SHERMAN, Commanding Army and Department of the Tennessee:

GENERAL: No telegram of the 9th December from the Secretary of War, calling for report of veterans mustered, has been received at these headquarters.

I have twenty-four regiments of veterans, over three-fourths of each regiment having enrolled themselves, and they are being mustered in as fast as rolls can be procured. Five regiments are already mustered.

I am satisfied that I will have twenty-six or twenty-eight regiments in my command of veterans. All of the regiments that have served two years and upwards will re-enlist, with two or three exceptions.

The muster-in rolls forwarded from the Adjutant-General’s Office, Washington, during the last three months, on requisitions from these headquarters, have never been received.

Very respectfully, your obedient servant,
JAS. B. McPHERSON, Major-General

We shall have enough soldiers for this campaign.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

