Friday, January 1, 1863

Lancaster, Ohio

It is New Years Day. I boarded the train at Lancaster with my daughter Minnie to accompany her back to school near Cincinnati. The train was very cold. It was late getting into Columbus, Ohio so we missed our connection. My time being short, I had to reach Cincinnati that night. Learning that a train would come along at 1:45 am the next day, I concluded to sit up. So along with some of the passengers we went to the tavern where we got supper and played cards till the time for starting.

I laid Minnie on a sofa and covered her up with coats & shawls. We sat up and kept the room warm.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

