Wednesday, October 21, 1863

IUKA, Mississippi

The Rebels are opposing my progress along the railroad.  We continue to cause them to retreat as we advance along the railroad.  I must cross to the North side of the River and will require boats to do so safely.

I telegraphed the following message to Memphis to be forwarded on to General Halleck.

My advance found Forrest’s Cavalry, 400 strong, at Barton’s Station, and whipped them handsomely yesterday, killing 2 and taking 9 prisoners. Our loss, 1 killed and 3 wounded slightly-all of the Fifth Ohio Cavalry, which acted most handsomely. The Tennessee River is up 8 feet on the shoals. I must cross over to communicate with Nashville and Chattanooga, and must have a steam ferry-boat. I will keep a regiment at Eastport. Wheeler, 10,000 strong, is near Decatur. I hope he will oppose my advance, but think he will swing up on my flank. My advance is at Cane Creek.

SHERMAN

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

