Thursday, October 1, 1863

Steamer Atlantic, En Route to Memphis from Vicksburg

My son Willy is still very sick. We should reach Memphis by tomorrow night. I will have doctors there look at him.

Just as we were leaving Vicksburg, I received word that the Ordnance Department was ready to issue supplies needed to put our batteries in order. We waited two months on the Big Black River when we could have done the work. Now that they issue, we are on the move and it is too late. I do think the Ordnance Department needs reconstruction. I handed the dispatch to Tuttle so that he may repair his batteries. As my corps is concerned, it comes too late to be of any use. There has been manifest neglect somewhere, and I distinctly charge it on the Ordnance Department, and wish that message sent to Washington.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

