Friday, August 21, 1863

Yesterday, I sent copies of my promotion to Ellen’s Father, Senator Ewing. I’m certain it will be a point of pride with him and vindicate his defense of me in the winter of 1861

Head Quarters, 15 Army Corps. Camp on Big Black, August 20, 1863

Honorable T. Ewing, Lancaster, Ohio

Dear Sir,
I enclose you a couple of papers that will I think afford you more satisfaction than they have me though I confess to feel some pride that I have linked my name with Grant’s in achieving one of the Stupendous works of this war.

There are many able Generals and men than Grant, myself, and McPherson, but we have been smart enough to direct our efforts to the critical “Line of operations”— the “strategic directrix” of the North American Continent.

When read please put them away among Ellen’s archives. She will write fully and will doubtless catch more points of interest than would naturally suggest themselves to me.

Yours truly,
W.T. Sherman, Major General

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

