Saturday, August 15, 1863

TO ULYSSES S. GRANT
Head Quarters. 15th Army Corps
Camp on Big Black, August 15.1863

Major General U. S. Grant Commanding, Department of the Tennessee Vicksburg, Mississippi

Dear General:
I had the satisfaction to receive last night the appointment as Brigadier General in the Regular Army, with a letter from General Halleck, very friendly and complimentary in its terms. I know, that I owe this to your favor, and beg to acknowledge it, and add, that I value the Commission far less, than the fact, that this will associate my name with yours and McPhersons in opening the Mississippi, an achievement, the importance of which cannot be over estimated.

I beg to assure you of my deep personal attachment and to express the hope, that the chances of War will leave me to serve near and under you, till the dawn of that Peace, for which we are contending with the only purpose, that it be honorable and lasting.

With great Respect
W.T. Sherman, Major General Volunteers

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

